• January 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Government's view of the economy could be summed up in a few short phrases: If it moves, tax it. If it keeps moving, regulate it. And if it stops moving, subsidize it.

    Ronald Reagan

    ---

    When the government's boot is on your throat, whether it is a left boot or a right boot is of no consequence.

    Gary Lloyd

    ---

    We have a system that increasingly taxes and subsidizes nonwork.

    Milton Friedman

    ---

    The American Republic will endure until the day Congress discovers that it can bribe the public with the public's money

    Alexis de Tocqueville

    ---

    Those of us who manage the public dollars will be held to account to spend wisely, reform bad habits, and do our business in the light of day, because only then can we restore the vital trust between a people and our government.

    Barack Hussein Obama, 1/20/09

    ---

    My friends, we live in the greatest nation in the history of the world. I hope you'll join with me as we try to change it.

    Barack Hussein Obama

    ---

    “And the Democrats intend to lead the most honest, most open, and most ethical Congress in history”

    Nancy Pelosi, Election Night 2006

    ---

    A community organizer can't bitch when communities organize.

    Rush Limbaugh

    ---

My Democrat Rep and the stimulus vote

I phoned my Congressman’s office today to urge him to vote against the so-called Stimulus Package. I initially called his local office. The person answering (Bill?) asked where I was from, and after telling him that, I urged Rep. Kanjorski to vote against the Stimulus, based on there being way too much that was pork. He asked my name, but NOT my address (other than town), so I knew my input didn’t matter. I mentioned that I got an answering machine when calling his DC office, but Bill told me that it WAS open. He transferred me, and I got through. This time, they took all of my info, and I again voiced my strong opposition to this, and asked that Mr. Kanjorski vote against it. I specified that putting 1/3 of a BILLION DOLLARS in funding for programs combatting Sexually Transmitted Diseases was just absolutely ridiculous, with it having absolutely NOTHING to do with ECONOMIC stimulus. He told me that the Congressman was getting quite a few calls, but didn’t say which way.

I found out tonight over at michellemalkin.com that he was one of 11 Democrats to vote against it. I do want to thank Mr. Kanjorski for not supporting this piece of trash (his statement HERE). I would hope that he truly does mean what he said in the statement. I will be calling his office again tomorrow thanking him.

Note: I have voted for him in the past, but ever since he stood on the White House lawn with Bill Clinton at what I call the “Post Impeachment Pep Rally”, I have not voted for him since.  And although he is endorsed each election by the NRA (one of the most important criteria for me), I feel that anyone who would support a liar who used his position of power to take advantage of an intern (sexual harrassment, IMO) does not have the ethics that I expect.

Update: (3pm 1/29/09) I did call Mr. Kanjorski’s office today to thank him for voting against the stimulus. The phone rep (with a very sexy Australian accent) perked up when I told her I was calling to thank him for voting that way, and she told me I will be hearing from in within the upcoming weeks (probably a letter).

2 Responses

  1. He had some good comments on CSPAN:

  2. Schmuck Schumer certainly did more than his part to create that run on banks.

    Kanjo made the comment that if the run went worldwide, our economic and political system would collapse.

    Collapse of the economic system would be catastrophic. But if we could selectively cause Congress to collapse and replace it, that would be a better fix than them trying to solve what they created in the first place.

Leave a Reply

