• December 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Government's view of the economy could be summed up in a few short phrases: If it moves, tax it. If it keeps moving, regulate it. And if it stops moving, subsidize it.

    Ronald Reagan

    ---

    When the government's boot is on your throat, whether it is a left boot or a right boot is of no consequence.

    Gary Lloyd

    ---

    We have a system that increasingly taxes and subsidizes nonwork.

    Milton Friedman

    ---

    The American Republic will endure until the day Congress discovers that it can bribe the public with the public's money

    Alexis de Tocqueville

    ---

    Those of us who manage the public dollars will be held to account to spend wisely, reform bad habits, and do our business in the light of day, because only then can we restore the vital trust between a people and our government.

    Barack Hussein Obama, 1/20/09

    ---

    My friends, we live in the greatest nation in the history of the world. I hope you'll join with me as we try to change it.

    Barack Hussein Obama

    ---

    “And the Democrats intend to lead the most honest, most open, and most ethical Congress in history”

    Nancy Pelosi, Election Night 2006

    ---

    A community organizer can't bitch when communities organize.

    Rush Limbaugh

    ---

Random Thoughts

The Democrats in Congress are leading the charge to both save one of their prime voting blocks (the UAW) and to nationalize the Auto industry.  Giving GM and Chrysler loans is nothing more than a band aid as well as lost money. Yes, there will be definite consequences if the “Big 3” go under. But donating taxpayer money will only prolong the problem, not solve it.  I say let the chips fall as they may. If GM, Chrysler, and Ford can turn things around by producing quality vehicles, that’s great. But if their mismanagement and the greed of the unions continue, they’ll appropriately go out of business, and the market will have spoken.

Note to trans-gendered HIV positive prisoners: if you want to get out of prison on time, do NOT spit on guards.

My wife and I were at Sam’s Club last weekend, and there must have been at LEAST 4 people in line when we were with LCD or Plasma Flat Screen TV’s. My son and I went to Circuit City last night in our quest for a Wii (we found one at the 7th store), and saw 3 people in line with flat panel TV’s. A friend at work has a theory that families are buying a “family gift”, rather than more individual gifts. Whatever the reason, there are people still buying big ticket items, but I think that next Christmas, you’ll see major cutbacks.

Throwing more money into the educational cesspool does not equate to higher quality education.

My co-worker and I came up with ONE good outcome of B. Hussein being our next POTUS: our guns will rapidly increase in value (small consolation compared to all of the rights we’ll be losing). 

No more tourist trips to NYC or New York State for MY family. Gov Paterson apparently wants to punish people in the form of insane taxation. Citizens of New York will have to live with their decision on electing this yo-yo as Lt. Governor (or whatever New Yawkers call the vice-governor), but as someone who lives out of state, I don’t; it’s bad enough that we have Fast Eddie.

You can pick your friends, you can pick your nose, but you can’t pick your parents, even if they are 3 fries short of a Happy Meal….

Mugshots

7 Responses

  1. Oh great … blame it on the Democrats and the UAW … it’s their fault after all … the auto-workers clinging to their damn jobs and social prerogatives … who do they think they are … and those blasting Democrats … traitors of the nation … automatically aligning with those job-clinging auto-workers … if they can’t accept working under the same conditions that a Chinese auto-worker does … then, they should all go to hell … the whole lot of them … democrats and those lazy job-clinging-auto-workers …

    Some times you guys really lose all sense of reality …

    • Yes, they do cling to their jobs; that’s evidenced by the “Job Bank”, where they draw 95% of their pay for reporting to a hall and doing nothing while officially labeled as “layed off”. The UAW negotiated that. A bit greedy, wouldn’t ya say? How can a company survive by supporting this nonsense? And by the way, I am against both the Auto bailout AND the Financial bailout, and there are Republicans who are as much to blame for all of this as Democrats (although the Democrats are definitely much more influenced by Unions).

      And who do you mean by “you guys”?

  2. And so would you if it were your means of survival … there’s nothing morally wrong with better and fair working conditions … if that doesn’t affect you, then you should better move to China and seek for a job at any of their auto-factories … I would love to see you smiling and literally working for peanuts …

  3. There’s a difference between “better and fair working conditions”, and downright greed. And this greed is what has put the unionized auto companies in the position they are in. The companies are no longer able to sustain these bloated contracts, and it’s now time to pay the piper.

    As for China, I have no intention of moving there, nor do I have any intention of becoming an auto worker. I was in a field that had limited jobs; instead of whining about it and expecting someone else to support me, I did something about it. I went back to school, and now have a job which I can safely and comfortably support my family.

  4. So good for you … some people win the lottery … but that’s not the rule … otherwise it would be pointless running a lottery … So, you won the lottery and now you go around with a quite discernible childish attitude:”Nya nya nya nya nya … I won the lottery … you damn lazy greedy bastards’ … Winning the lottery and being in love with it does not enable to you analyse other people’s concerns and future perspectives …

  5. 1. I’ve never won the lottery (other than maybe $20 here and there).

    2. You have a lot of anger; that’s very dangerous.

    3. If you knew me, the last thing you would say is that I have a childish attitude. In fact, I have a realistic attitude. I’ve gotten to where I am by planning and hard work, and have NEVER had to depend on someone else to support me (other than when I was a child/adolescent).

    4. I expect a decent wage and benefits from my employer, and decent working conditions as well. I DON’T expect to be paid for work when I am not working, I DON’T expect total compensation that is so costly, that my company would go out of business. In other words, I’m not in the UAW. And yes, I have been in a union previously, and am glad I’m not now.

    5. Through all of your anger, you fail to see that individuals are responsible for themselves; in your angry world, the government is the answer. And yes, there are times when people will need help, and there’s nothing wrong with that in order to get through those tough times. But when people go through life with their hand always out, EXPECTING others to take care of them when they are perfectly capable of caring for themselves, and never bothered to plan for contingencies, then tough luck.

    6. You can BET that if I was an auto worker, I would have been planning on moving or going back to college or trade school to position myself for something else in case I lost my job; in other words, I wouldn’t be depending on the union or government.

    “Simply put, you believe that things or people make you unhappy, but this is not accurate. You make yourself unhappy.” – Wayne Dyer

  6. Jeff, I’m sorry for taking such a long time to reply … You claimed to have spotted angry feelings in my previous reply … I read it many times over and I still can’t figure what could I’ve written to render you with such impression … actually I’m sort of taking the ‘lighter side’ as to what concerns your points of view … in a somewhat jokingly manner. Maybe that must’ve stricken a nerve in you.

    I didn’t mean ‘winning the lottery’ in a literal way … it’s a figure of speech … meaning that you’ve won the jack-pot … or that you found, at the end of the rainbow, a leprechaun’s lucky charms and pot of gold all at once ….

    As an eventual and somewhat law abiding citizen, I know individuals are responsible for themselves … it’s in the Constitution … and the lack of knowledge about our laws do not make any of us less responsible for our acts and its consequences.

    Apart from all this, I’m pretty sure that you are fully aware that, in the entire US of A, you were not the only one who decided to take matters in your own hands and boost your professional qualities and even change your profession altogether … what you apparently seem to ignore is that, even in this afore mentioned group, you are one of the very few who actually made it … and I reckon luck might not have anything to do with it … personal efforts, self-commitment, academic background and good connections certainly did play a bigger part in it … but you can’t expect, and much less demand, that what worked for you will work as well for everybody else … Although we are equal under the law, personal choices and how we tackle with our everyday life and future are not guided by equality under the law … we are different … we react differently and we understand things differently … Somehow and for some reason I couldn’t figure out yet, you rather use your personal and professional ‘victories’ as a way to disregard and belittle fellow citizens who did not make or felt uncapable of pursuing the same choices as yours …

    As for Wayne Dyers quote, in my case at least, it simply does not apply … I had a miserable childhood, a miserable teen life, a miserable post-teen and a miserable adulthood … personal and professional, but not financial … Nevertheless, with all this misery running wild in my personal and professional affairs … I simply can’t recall one single in which I had woken with a bad humor … for me, a new day is almost as good as a new life.

    Finally, I would like to remind you of the reasons that brought human beings into becoming social creatures … into banding together since pre-historical times … for safety and to rely on the group in case of need … this evolved into tribes, city states, feudalism, kingdoms, empires and national state republics. Yeah okay, things changed since pre-history and relying on the group or nation, as the case might be, in case of need as been somewhat abandoned by the very state … but things don’t have to be like this. Besides, capitalism has evolved and adopted many social issues that were anathema in early capitalism. Yet, here in the US of A we rejected it as if it were nothing but leech feeding and prefer to act as if we lived in early and totally unregulated capitalism, also known as ‘Wild Capitalism’.

Leave a Reply

